Course Approval and Implementation

All courses to be offered in a distance learning format (online, ITV, cable) must be submitted through the existing campus/college course approval process. Course proposal and approval process for distance learning and online varies at each campus.

Careful planning and preparation are critical to a well-designed and well-run course. Faculty should plan the course structure and select the most appropriate delivery format, by working closely with an instructional designer to establish pedagogy goals, learning outcomes, build your syllabus and more. It can take anywhere from 3-6 months to plan a course and develop content for online delivery once course has been approved. More Info

Contact the campus distance learning coordinators for assistance.

Hawaiʻi Community College
Leanne Urasaki
lurasaki@hawaii.edu
Honolulu Community College
Ross Egloria
egloria@hawaii.edu
Kapiʻolani Community College
Leigh Dooley
ldooley@hawaii.edu
Kauaʻi Community College
Jeffery Mexia
jmexia@hawaii.edu
Leeward Community College
Brent Hirata
bhirata@hawaii.edu
UH Hilo
Cynthia Yamaguchi
cynthiae@hawaii.edu
UH Mānoa
UH Maui College
UH West Oʻahu
Gloria Niles
gniles@hawaii.edu
Windward Community College
Elizabeth Ratliff
braffet@hawaii.edu