State Authorization for Distance Education

SARA (State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement) is an agreement among the member states that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education programs and courses. It is intended to make it easier for students to take distance learning programs and courses offered by postsecondary institutions across state lines.

SARA is overseen by the National Council for State Authorization Agreements (NC-SARA) and administered by four regional education compacts. Members of NC-SARA are states, not institutions. Membership is voluntary; therefore, not all states are SARA members. The state of Hawaiʻi is a member of NC-SARA through the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE).

All UH institutions are required to participate if offering online and distance learning programs and courses outside of Hawaiʻi.

Approved University of Hawaiʻi SARA Institutions

Hawaiʻi Community College
Kimberley Collins
(808) 934-2512
Leanne Urasaki
(808) 934-2647
Honolulu Community College
Susan Nishida
(808) 845-9187
Kauaʻi Community College
Frankie Harriss
(808) 245-8203
Valerie Barko
(808) 245-8336
Kapiʻolani Community College
Melissa Nakamura
(808) 734-9152
Leeward Community College
Keala Chock
(808) 455-0458
UH Maui College
Kaheleonolani Dukelow
(808) 984-3475
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Sarah Simmons
(808) 956-8866
University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Keiki Kawaiʻaeʻa
(808) 932-7332
University of Hawaiʻi at West Oʻahu
David San Jose
Windward Community College
Melanie Wilson
(808) 235-7443

A list of member States and participating Institutions, may be found at the NC-SARA website.

The following State and U.S. Territories are not SARA members: